Skip to content

A Stepmother Goes To Bed

July 29, 2010

Well, I cannot say I am feeling any better.  I tried again to speak to my husband about setting goals for his son.  I’m not talking about crazy making goals here either.  Rather I would like to set goals like R will go to school or R will get a full-time job.  Something, anything to move him forward out of this life he has chosen for himself.  O tells me that I have lost the ‘fun’ in life.  That I can’t see the forest for the trees.  He doesn’t understand that the trees have all fallen, felled by a giant hand.  They lay in a giant swath across our path.  They are blocking our way. 

In my fairy tale home, the decisions I make with my husband are decision we uphold.  If we decide that everyone has to wear wings on Tuesday, I actually expect everyone to put on their fairy wings and flit around – even if it doesn’t make sense to anyone else.  Our home, our decisions, our rules.  My reality is I wake up Tuesday morning and carefully put on my fairy wings and step out to see the rest of the family wingless looking at me like I’m crazy

I’d like to blame all of this on the fact that I am a stepmother, but the truth is there are other forces at work here.  First, I see things in black and white – there is no middle ground for me.  You are either right or wrong, there is no sort of.  Second, I seem to be lacking some communication skills.  I feel bad, I can’t understand how to put this right.  To me, it is so important, critical, that we guide R, teach him life skills, help him find a path towards a better future, but I don’t know that it is worth fighting with my husband all the time. At face value, it seems like an easy choice, but here is the kicker, at the core I can’t stand the rule breaking, the cheating, the lying.  It strikes at my heart and hurts me.  Its like daggers to me.  So again, I am still lost and lonely.  O is sleeping peacefully next to me, S just one room over, God only knows where R is….why do I feel so bad about this?

I promise, faithful readers (of who I think I have none) that I will return to funny tomorrow.

Until then, I remain faithfully yours,

The entirely too morose Wicked Stepmother

From → Stepmother

6 Comments
  1. .. whenever you feel like this, know you aren’t alone. I have the same issues.. the same problems.. the same situations.. the same black and white outlook among a sea of grey shading.

    I hope this makes you feel better… and if you ever need to get something off your chest but not on your blog, feel free to email me.. we’ll have virtual cocktails wearing fairy wings and glitter!!

  2. Sister I’m having a real cocktail right now!!

  3. I got this web site from my buddy who informed me regarding this website and now this time
    I am visiting this site and reading very informative posts at this time.

  4. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return once again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  5. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or
    vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog
    by the way!

  6. Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this weblog to get most
    recent updates, so where can i do it please assist.

Leave a comment